Like it or not Insurance CE is part of being a licensed California insurance agent.
Compliance is real. If an agent forgets to complete their continuing education they may face penalties. Some penalties include:
– Losing paychecks or commissions
– Cut off from carriers whose products they would like to represent
How many hours are necessary for California Insurance Continuing Education?
Currently, California agents are required to take at least 24 hours of CE credits. These hours may include the required Ethics as well as updating CE hours for products an agent sells. Annuities, Long Term Care, Flood, and Homeowner’s all require their own CE classes and updates.
Almost as important as what you sell, an agent will need to consider who they sell for. Many have their own continuing education requests that from California DOI requirements.
How is CE different than Pre-Licensing?
Unlike the time you spent in Pre-Licensing, Continuing Education hours are not timed. CE credits decided by the California Department of Insurance are based on the length of the course. For example, a 15 questions quiz may give an agent 3 or 4 hours of CE credits. With Affordable Educators, credit is given once you have passed your exam with a score of 70% or better. Unlimited and free exam re-takes are available.
Do not fall for the quizzes that are timed or do not offer re-takes. The department of insurance does not require a timer for CE classes or even practice exams. One final exam with a passing score and you can be on your way to the next exam.
All agents are required to do at least 3-hours Ethics based CEs per renewal. Affordable Educators offers an Ethics selection of CEs, classes are from 3-30 hours. Why not mix your general education needs with your Ethics to save time?
Often your Continuing Education is required before you can speak about products. Flood and Homeowner’s Valuation are both required for any Property and Casualty agent talking to clients about policies. Currently, you can’t approach the public about Homeowner’s Insurance without a 3-hour Insurance Valuation CE class. We offer class #186 to meet this requirement.
A new Life insurance agent needs an 8-hour starter Annuities class before they can write a policy. Policies with riders on the back end still require Annuities and their updates.
After the starter 8-hour annuities, agents drop down to a minimum of the 4-hours pre-renewal period. You can find Annuities classes at Ceclass.com,
California Health insurance agents who sell Long Term Care (LTC) must include at least 8 hours of LTC CE in each renewal. Newer agents of 1-4 years must double that requirement to 16 hours for their first two renewal periods.
California agents who have had a license for at least 4 years are considered established agents. As an established agent, they may reduce their CE for Annuities to one 4-hour class per renewal. Also, Long-Term Care representatives may now take one 8-hour, LTC class, for a renewal period.
Agents who have sold these products in the past will want to keep credits updated to continue receiving commissions. Failure to do the CE even after an agent stops selling an Annuities or LTC product results in loss of commissions.
The Affordable Educators Difference
We know keeping your renewals up to date and maintaining your business can be overwhelming. At Affordable Educators, we’re here to help.
Our easy website is set up to provide you a step-by-step experience. Simply log in and follow the prompts. New customers just need to create an account.
Our system stores copies of your certificates in case you ever need a copy.
Free License Review
Within a few minutes, you can have a free license review from our online chat, email, or by simply calling us. We will review what you have done in the past and what your needs and goals are for your next two years. We may even offer you a discount code to get you started. We are here to help.
Your Continuing Education need not be frustrating with Affordable Educators on your side. We will help you learn how to become a licensed Insurance Agent.
Call us at (800) 498-5100 to learn how to become a licensed insurance agent.