FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS
Jump to a help section
About Affordable Educators
We are industry educators for nearly 30 years. Since 1993, we have provided continuing education to a variety of professionals including insurance agents, bail agents, adjusters and private investigators. In more recent years, we have expanded to also offering prelicensing for prospective California Insurance Agents.
We are available via phone at 800-498-5100 between the hours of 9 AM and 4 PM, Monday through Friday. You can also use our live chat feature, M-F, 9 AM to 4 PM or email us at firstname.lastname@example.org
Monday through Friday, 9 AM to 4 PM.
We have been approved with the Department of Insurance for nearly 30 years! Our provider number for continuing education is 20537.
Continuing education aka CE or CEUs are courses that required by the Department of Insurance every two years in order to maintain your California insurance license. Our CE courses are designed with ease of use in mind, but also educational in nature.
We submit your continuing education hours daily to Sircon (the Department of Insurance’s 3rd Party provider)
If you are an insurance agent in CA and have practiced insurance for 30 consecutive years and are over the age of 70, your continuing education may be waived. You will have to notify the Department of Insurance (DOI) by calling them at 800-967-9331. The best time to contact the DOI is between 7 am and 8 am.
We have a 30 day, no questions asked refund policy if courses have not been taken. If courses have been taken or completed, we will work with you to exchange courses.
Yes! All of our exams may be completed while you are reading the books.
Yes! All multiple choice.
You can take the exam as many times until you pass without being charged.
If you fail the exam, you can retake it as many times until you pass. We legally cannot provide you which questions you missed, but usually if you return to the book material, the answers will be easier to find.
For our continuing education courses, we offer books as well. You can order books by calling us or clicking here. You can submit your answers to the exams online, via fax (fax to 951-296-3004), or mail (PO Box 2048, Temecula, CA 92593).
Specific Continuing Education Questions
Every agent needs 24 hours of continuing education every two years to renew; at least three of the 24 hours MUST come from an approved ethics course. Some agents may need other specialty courses depending on the products they sell (see here for more details).
Courses are labeled Life & Health, Personal Lines, or Property/Casualty Agents. Courses labeled ANY agent can be taken by either life or property/casualty agents.
Yes, as long as you are in a different renewal period, e.g., Jack takes course 142 in the renewal period ending 6/30/19. In 2020 Jack repeats 142 again which is okay because he is in a different two-year renewal period ending 6/30/21.
Yes. If you take more hours than needed, the excess hours will be credited to your next licensing period. However, the Department of Insurance only allows up to 24 extra hours on top of the 24 required. In other words, you should not take more than 48 hours in a renewal period. Additionally, training courses such as ethics, long term care, and annuities, must be taken every renewal period.
The state regulates the amount of pages and questions in a given course. Generally, it follows that 10 pages of content equals 1 credit hour. Somewhere between 3 to 5 questions are required per credit hour. So, a 4 hour course can have 40 pages and a minimum of 12 questions; a 30 hour course can have 300 pages and 100 questions.
Starting 1/1/07 the California Code requires all Life / Heath Agents and Property / Casualty Broker-Agents to complete three (3) hours of ethics training during their two-year license term. Ethics training is part of, not in addition to, the California resident agent’s current continuing education requirement.
We have several courses that will satisfy your ethics requirement. See Courses 193, 171, 172, 173, 175, 142, 181 (P/C Only), 182, 187, or 222 (NEW!). Some give you as much as 30 hours of CE credit with 3 hours going to meet your ethics requirement…so, it’s like getting two courses in one. Get the hours you need and ethics is included…almost like free ethics!
Do I still need to take ethics courses next renewal if I took more than 3 hours this renewal period?
Extra course hours may carry forward, but you still need “fresh” ethics hours EVERY renewal period, i.e. you can’t take a bunch of extra ethics hours and expect them to meet your ethics requirements for years to come.
Each renewal, P/C agents are required to take at least 24 hours, with 3 of those (at least) being ethics. P/C agents that sell homeowner’s insurance must also take #186, Homeowner’s Valuation course. This is a one-time, 3 hour course that is required to talk to any clients or potential clients about homeowner’s insurance. Another course that may be required if you offer or sell the products, (depending on your carrier), is #190 Flood insurance. Please see here for more detailed information about continuing education requirements.
Each renewal life/health licensees are required to take 24 hours of continuing education, including at least 3 hours of ethics. Each renewal, life/health agents may be required to take annuities or long-term care courses dependent upon if you sell these respective products. If you are a new agent, you will have to take an 8 hour initial annuities course (#201 is our course number). If you are new agent looking to sell long term care products, you must take 16 hours of LTC (our course numbers are #213 and #214) for your first two renewals. Please see here for additional details.
Each renewal, personal lines agents are required to take at least 24 hours, with 3 of those (at least) being ethics. Personal Lines agents must also take #186, Homeowner’s Valuation course. This is a 3 hour course that is required to talk to any clients or potential clients about homeowner’s insurance. It is a one time course. Another course that may be required (depending on your carrier’s requirements), is #190 Flood insurance. Please see here for more detailed information about the personal lines continuing education requirements.
Yes, you only need to do 24 hours total. Be mindful of the specific requirements for each license type. Check here for additional information on these specific requirements. If you need further help choosing courses, please call, chat, or email us!
Affordable Educators’ System
To get started, we first want to make sure you are taking the courses you need to. You can call/email/or chat our offices for a complimentary license review. Or, see here.
If you know what courses you need, login here. Once logged into your account, you can select the courses by clicking “Buy Courses” and choosing the ones you want. After you pay, the courses will appear in your account.
To edit your account information, login to your account here. Once logged in, click the blue button on the top that says, Edit My Personal Information. Please note, for security purposes, you will need the zip code for the last address you provided to us. If you do not remember, please call us at 800-498-5100 for assistance.
To get started, create your account or login to an existing account. Select your courses and submit your payment + DOI posting fees. Then complete your courses and we will report your CE hours directly to Sircon.
Upon checkout, you will input your code into the section called corporate code and hit the apply button. If you do not have a code, please use code FAQ for 10% off.
You have 30 days from the purchase of your original courses to get the all you can eat price. All you have to pay beyond the initial fee (of $42) is the .67 DOI fee per credit hour, per course.
No! Our Insurance continuing education is not timed. You can take as long as you need to complete the courses as long as you get it into us before your license expires.
We have three ways for you to submit your test results/answers: online (log in here), fax to 951-296-3004 or mail to POB 2048 Temecula, CA 92593.
You can submit your results/answers via fax 951-296-3004 or mail to POB 2048, Temecula, CA
You get instant results and instant certificates with all online courses. If you get your course materials online and choose to fax or mail your answers, we will grade your exam and send a Certificate of Completion by email within 24 hours.
If you are submitting your answers online, once you key in your answers and submit, our system will let you know instantly. If you submit via fax or mail, we will email you a certificate as soon as you pass, same day.
No! With us, your courses never expire. The key is you want to finish your continuing education courses BEFORE your license renewal.
We submit daily to Sircon (who submits to the DOI) and results are instantly posted. If you need faster submission, please select the Rush service at checkout.
To access your certificate, you can login to your account here. Once logged in, locate and click the green button that says “Get Certificates Below”. Or once logged in, you can simply scroll down until you see the section entitled “Completed Courses”.
Access your certificate by following the above instructions (Where do I find my certificate) then locate the course you want to obtain a certificate for and click the Print/Save link next to the course. When the printer option pops up, change the destination (typically your destination will be set to a printer) to Adobe PDF and click save.
You can take continuing education courses up until midnight on the day you renew. For example, if your renewal date is April 30th, you have until midnight on April 30th to take and submit courses.
License Renewal Questions:
The Department of Insurance is the regulating body that oversees insurance companies, as well as insurance agents. To contact the DOI you can call them at 800-967-9331 or visit their website: https://www.insurance.ca.gov/
Sircon is the Department of Insurance’s Third party provider; you can use Sircon to check your license status and renew your license.
In August of 2019, the Department of Insurance switched to a new third party provider called Sircon. Sircon charges a fee of .67 a credit hour on top of our low prices.
To renew your California Insurance License you will head over to www.sircon.com. Once on their site, click the “Renew or Reinstate Your License” tab and follow the prompts. Click here for more information regarding your CA insurance license renewal.
As of July 2023, the cost to renew your CA Insurance License is $188 per license.
If you do not finish your CE on-time or if you pay your fees late, the DOI will charge you half the fee of your license. For example, if you have a life and health license you will be charged $188 plus a late fee of $94.
Our system is most compatible with Chrome or Microsoft Edge.
We only collect information needed to produce a certificate and send results to the State. All data is entered and stored on secure pages and servers indicated by the tiny lock at the top of your browser and the “https” code at the top.
PO Box 2048, Temecula CA 92593